The Polar Bear Plunge at Seaside presented by New Jersey Law Enforcement as part of the year-round fundraising of Law Enforcement Torch Run® events, is a unique opportunity for individuals, organizations and businesses to support Special Olympics New Jersey athletes by jumping into the frigid Atlantic waters during the month of February.
Plunge fees and deadlines:
Register online by December 31, 2018: $100 minimum to participate
Register between January 1 – January 31, 2019: $110 minimum to participate
Register between February 1 – February 18, 2019: $120 minimum to participate
Register after February 18 on the day of the Plunge at the on-site tent for $125.
Plungers registering on-site will not be added to a team. All team members must be registered before online registration closes.
All plungers must raise the minimum to participate depending on when they registered for the Plunge. If plunging as a team, all team members are still required to raise the minimum. Charitable contributions are non-refundable, and the minimum Plunge requirement is considered a charitable contribution, and therefore non-refundable.
What incentives are available to participants who raise more than the minimum?
Our participants look forward to the awesome Plunge gear every year! Take a look at our incentives page for the levels which are based on individual fundraising goals.
What is your event cancellation policy?
We reserve the right to cancel an event due to inclement weather. Safety of our participants and spectators is always most important to us. We work with local law enforcement to be sure conditions are safe for participants. If you cannot attend the event or the event is cancelled there will be no refunds. If an event were to be cancelled, we do have a make-up date and will inform all Plungers.
How old do you have to be to Plunge?
There is no age requirement to participate in a Polar Bear Plunge. Young children are welcome to participate, but that decision is left to the sole discretion of the child’s parent or guardian. A waiver is included in the online registration process, and it must be approved or “clicked,” by an adult. Those under 18 years of age are required to have a parent or guardian present at the event. If you do not register online, paper waivers are available at registration, as well.
What can I expect at check-in on Plunge day?
For information on our check-in process and tips how to speed up your check-in experience, visit our What To Expect page.
I have a group of people that want to Plunge together. Can we form a team?
Yes! Forming a team is a great way to motivate one another to raise more money for Special Olympics New Jersey. When registering, select the “Create a Team” option. Teams must consist of at least ten Plungers.
Will my Plunge team be able to jump in together?
Absolutely! We recommend getting down to the beach early to find a spot for your team to congregate.
Is alcohol allowed at Plunges?
Alcohol is not permitted at the Plunge site. If you are intoxicated, law enforcement will not allow you to Plunge.
What should I wear to Plunge?
For information on what to wear, what to bring and locations to change, visit our What To Expect page.
If you still have questions about the Plunge, contact us at email@example.com.